World Supercross Series heading to Australia for the final battle


After a busy year in which promoters have struggled with some issues and big changes -and a long 4-month break between the first and the second round, the 2023 WSX Championship will celebrate its third and final round of the calendar this weekend in Melbourne, Australia.

It will be an exciting night full of action under the lights of the Marvel Stadium as the final round of the Australian Supercross Championship will also take place there on Friday night. You can follow both races on WSX.TV (timetable below)

After a chaotic night last round in Abu Dhabi, there were some changes in the standings of both classes as reigning champs Ken Roczen and Shane McElrath lost the red plate against Joey Savatgy and Shane McElrath respectively.

The much-awaited final round of racing is set to deliver a thrilling contest – that will go down to the wire – with the current top four riders in the WSX championship standings separated by only 19 points. Rick Ware Racing’s & current championship leader Joey Savatgy (127 points), reigning 2022 WSX World Champion from PMG Ken Roczen (122 points), the inform Firepower Honda’s Dean Wilson (111 points), and hard-edged rider from Motoconcepts’s Vince Friese (108 points) are all in the mix for the WSX World Champion title, should the night go their way.

Anstie has a serious chance to become the first UK World Champion since James Dobb’s 125cc title in 2001 – Image: WSX Media

In the SX2 class, Britain’s Max Anstie from Firepower Honda (140 points) has a commanding championship lead of 32 points over Rick Ware Racings & last year’s SX2 World Champion, Shane McElrath (108 points), with Team GSM’s Maxime Desprey (97 points) and Honda NIL’s Chris Blose (93 points) sitting in third and fourth places, respectively. While Anstie will go in the favourite, Mcelrath is the reigning champ & has a point to prove, and Maxime & Blose both have form from the recent round in Abu Dhabi.

Image: WSX Media

Due to injuries, two teams have made changes to their Melbourne line up with CDR’s Aaron Tanti, who sustained injuries in Abu Dhabi, withdrawn from the WSX class (and will not be replaced), while Club MX’s Matt Moss (injured), will be substituted by local Australian rider, Rhys Bud in the WSX class.

Additionally, three Australian Wildcard Riders have been confirmed for the final round, with Dylan Wills taking the WSX wildcard position, while Nathan Crawford & Kaleb Barham will line up in the SX2 class after impressive recent rides at the FOX Australian Supercross Championship.


Top 10 – WSX Championship Standings Post Round 2 out of 3:

1Joey Savatgy127
2Ken Roczen 122
3Dean Wilson118
4Vince Friese108
5Justin Hill88
6Kyle Chisholm77
7Greg Aranda75
8Cédric Soubeyras74
9Kevin Moranz62
10Josh Hill57

Top 10 SX2 Points Standings Post Round 2 out of 3:

1Max Anstie140
2Shane McElrath108
3Maxime Desprey97
4Chris Blose93
5Luke Clout67
6Cullin Park64
7Jace Owen59
8Enzo Lopes57
9Luke Neese52
10Henry Miller51


Enjoy all the action on WSX.TV

*Based on Local time

SX2 & WSX Practice and Qualifying14:00
SX2 Heats18:36
WSX Heats19:00

SX2 GP Race 1 & Race 2

WSX GP Race 1 & Race 2

SX2 GP Race 3
WSX GP Race 321:10

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 142