WMX Preview: All you need to know about the 2024 Women Motocross Championship

wmx spain start 23

The Women Motocross World Championship will start this weekend at the second GP of the year in Madrid, Spain. It will be the 17th season of the WMX category since it turned into a world-class category in 2008. This year we have some changes among the title contenders like the reigning champ Courtney Duncan will be on a new machinery as same as many other girls in the paddock.

F&H Racing has signed an agreement with multiple WMX world champion Courtney Duncan. After a very strong season in 2023 in which she managed to win four of the six Grand Prix, she managed to take the women’s world title for the fourth time in her career. Now within the professional structure of the F&H Racing team, she will be chasing her fifth world title this year.

Spaniard Daniela Guillen took the silver medal last year in her second WMX season. Daniela won the opening round in Riola Sardo and went to the title fight until the end. She is now back on the Mequitec GasGas team, ready and motivated for more. No doubt she will be one of the Duncan´s main rivals this season.

Image: JP Acevedo

Joining the Yamaha Family marks an exciting new chapter in van Drunen’s career. The now 16-year-old, known by her #401, will compete in the WMX World Championship aboard a GYTR kitted YZ250F with support from the De Baets Yamaha Supported MX team. Lotte already showed what is capeable to do on her new machinery as she won the Supercross and Motocross titles last year in the Mini O´s in United States. Also, she won the bronze medal and a GP win last year on her rookie season.

Image: Van Drunen

Lynn Valk is another Dutch rider who has changed both team and brand. The 2022 runner-up and 4th place finisher in 2023 has left Fantic to join the German team KTM Schimcker. On the other hand, her fellow countrywoman Shana van der Vlist, known for winning demanding events such as Lommel or Riola Sardo between 2021 and 2022, will continue with Yamaha for another year.

Martine Hughes burst onto the WMX scene in 2022 with the 114 Motorsports Honda team under the watchful eye of Livia Lancelot and she actually got on the podium at her WMX debut. However, with the 114 Motorsports team folding, Hughes made the switch to Husqvarna with a privateer setup in 2023. For the 2024 season, Hughes is on the move once again as she’ll make the switch to Kawasaki to once again focus on the WMX World Championship. The Swedish championship will also be on her schedule as well as the Norwegian series if her schedule allows it.

Larissa Papenmeier is one of the most experienced and pioneering riders in women’s motocross. The German has been in every edition since the first championship, and 2024 will be no exception as we will see her back behind the starting gate. Papenmeier will continue with her own team, however she has decided to switch from Yamaha to Honda.

New colors:

  • Courtey Duncan #1 | Kawasaki Dixon > F&H Racing (Kawasaki)
  • Lotte Van Drunen #401 | Kawasaki > Yamaha De Beats
  • Lynn Valk #172 | Fantic > KTM Shimcker
  • Martine Hughes #511 | Husqvarna > Kawasaki
  • Larissa Papenmeier #423 | Yamaha > Honda

Kiara Fontanesi is another of the most experienced riders who will be back behind the starting gate for another season. Up to 6 world titles and 21 overall victories position the Italian as one of the most successful riders in WMX history. Fontanesi will continue with GasGas in what will be her 13th season.

Image: JP Acevedo

WMX All-Time Winners List:

RankRiderCountryGP WinsTitles
1Courtey DuncanNew Zealand234
2Kiara FontanesiItaly216
3Stephanie LaierGermany163
4Livia LancelotFrance152
5Larissa PapenmeierGermany60
6Meghan RutledgeAustralia40
7Nancy van de VenNetherlands31
8Shana van der VlistNetherlands20
9Daniela GuillenSpain10
10Lotte Van DrunenNetherlands10
11Lynn ValkNetherlands10
12Amandine VerstappenGermany10
13Natalie KaneIreland10

WMX Spain – Round 1 Time schedule

Free Practice8:00
Time Practice 10:50
Race 113:50
Race 210:20


123 & 24 MarchMadrid
26 & 7 AprilRiola Sardo
311 & 12 MayLugo
41 & 2 JuneTeutschenthal
515 & 16 JuneMaggiora
617 & 18 AugustArnhem
77 & 8 SeptemberAfyonkarahisar

WMX Spain – Entry list:

1 1 Duncan Courtney Kawasaki NZL MNZ F&H Racing Team
2 5 Jans-Beken Britt Yamaha NED KNMV
4 9 Germond Virginie KTM SUI FFM Team Dragon Moto
5 12 Reitze Alicia Yamaha GER DMSB SYE Racing Team 423
6 14 Martinez Mathilde GASGAS FRA FFM VHR Racing Team
7 26 Cepelakova Aneta Yamaha CZE ACCR
8 49 Goggel Alicia KTM COL FMC VHR Racing Team
9 53 Aagaard Andersen Barbara Yamaha DEN DMU
10 118 Skudutyte Adrija GASGAS LTU LMSF
11 128 Sanchez Nequi Jana Yamaha ESP RFME
12 153 Franzoni April Honda FRA FFM
13 172 Valk Lynn KTM NED KNMV Schmicker Racing
14 188 van der Vlist Shana Yamaha NED KNMV
15 203 Viaud Camille Yamaha FRA FFM
16 220 Perez Melanie Yamaha FRA FFM
17 255 Guillen Daniela GASGAS ESP RFME
18 257 Pachmann Lexi Yamaha GER DMSB
19 310 Barker Lucy KTM GBR ACU
20 325 Andersen Sara KTM DEN DMU
21 401 Van Drunen Lotte Yamaha NED KNMV De Baets Yamaha MX-Team
22 423 Papenmeier Larissa Honda GER DMSB SYE Racing Team 423
23 511 Hughes Martine Kawasaki NOR NMF
24 612 Seleboe Mathea Yamaha NOR NMF
25 644 Raunkjaer Laura Yamaha DEN DMU
26 699 Kapsamer Elena GASGAS AUT AMF
27 705 Jakobsen Malou KTM DEN DMU
28 717 Gelissen Danee Yamaha NED KNMV Ceres 71 Racing
29 775 Massury Alexandra KTM GER DMSB
30 914 Gomez Fernandez Carmen Yamaha ESP RFME
31 947 Heleenders Romero Emely Yamaha GER DMSB SYE Racing Team 423
32 969 Hoppe Fiona Husqvarna GER DMSB
33 974 Lehmann Janina Honda GER DMSB

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 143