How to watch: New Castle Triple Crown – AUSX Round 2

wilson dhabi3

The second – and penultimate- round of the Australian Supercross series will feature a Triple Crown format with three finals in each class paying some crucial points for the championship. A maximum of 75 points are available in Newcastle if a rider wins all three main events. This will be the only Triple Crown race sandwiching in the middle of Adelaide´s season opener and then the final round in Melbourne, on November 25th.


Dean Wilson and the Red Plate: FirePower Honda´s Dean Wilson will carry the Red Plate as the fresh championship leader in the SX1 class. The last time Wilson led a championship was in the 250SX West Coast St.Louis round back in 2013! So, this is the first time in Wilson´s 450 career that he will line up as a championship leader since he left the 250 class back at the end of the 2013 season. Also, Adelaide was his first career win on a 450.

Wilson is coming hot after taking a big boost of confidence last weekend at the WSX GP of Abu Dhabi, where he grabbed the second place overall after winning Race Two.

Tanti OUT – Brayton IN: CDR Yamaha´s Aaron Tanti and FirePower Honda´s and defending champion Justin Brayton both suffered a massive crash in Race One of the WSX GP of Abu Dhabi. Tanti ended up with broken ribs that put end of his season. Fortunately for Brayton, he was cleared of major injuries and remains in title contention en route to his six-straight SX1 title. Brayton sits second, 3 points behind teammate Wilson.

Strong Anstie: The defending SX2 champion from FirePower Honda stormed the field in Adelaide. Like Wilson, Anstie also has a boost of confidence in Abu Dhabi by taking the overall win and the red plate. He hopes to continue his streak in the AUSX series in New Castle as he looks super consistent and strong in the three-race format.

Farewell: Recently we learned that Serco Race Team will close its doors at the end of the AUSX season after 22 successful years after departing with Yamaha Motor Australia. On the other hand, Canadian Cole Thompson sits fourth in the SX2 standings. He was the last year’s Triple Crown winner and has some chances to put himself and the team in championship contention on which will be the last season for the team.


SX1 – Top 10:

1Dean Wilson25
2Justin Brayton22
3Matt Moss20
4Josh Hill18
5Luke Clout16
6Aaron Tanti15
7Kyle Webster14
8Luke Zielinski13
9Jackson Richardson12
10Bailey Malkiewicz11

SX2 – Top 10:

1Max Anstie25
2Robbie Wageman22
3Wilson Todd20
4Cole Thompson18
5Jayce Cosford16
6Liam Atinkson15
7Ryder Kingsford14
8Noah Fergurson13
9Nathan Crawdford12
10Reid Taylor11


You can watch round two of the Australian Supercross Championship from Newcastle this Saturday. Live & Free on 7plus in Australia and also Live & Free on WSX.TV for our international viewers.

Timetable SX1 & SX2 classes:

*Based on Local time

SX2 – Heat 16:15pm
SX2 – Heat 26:23
SX1 – Heat 16:31
SX1 – Heat 26:40
SX2 – FINAL 17:37
SX2 – FINAL 27:46
SX1 – FINAL 17:59
SX1 – FINAL 28:08
SX2 – FINAL 38:37
SX1 – FINAL 38:53




More posts from

Onboard Magazine 147