Kyle Webster and Brodie Connolly wins in Gillman – Australia ProMX Round 3

MX1 Race 1 at Rd 3 ProMX Championship, MRA,South Australia.
Image Details
Camera: Canon Canon EOS R3
Lens: RF100-300mm F2.8 L IS USM
f 2.8
1/2000 sec
ISO 200
Credit: Marc Jones/Foremost Media
Date: 5 May 2024

Action was delivered thick and fast in Gillman’s third round of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores, as Kyle Webster reclaimed the Thor MX1 red plate with a double victory – achieving that feat for the second time this season – at the popular, loamy South Australian venue.

Words | Press release

While Webster was exceptional on his way to the 450cc overall, Honda Racing teammate Brodie Connolly kept his perfect season in tact with a dominant Pirelli MX2 performance, the New Zealander going 1-1 for the third time in as many weekends of racing this year.


With Boost Mobile Honda Racing rider Kyle Webster winning Wonthaggi’s opening round and CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Jed Beaton topping the Horsham podium and taking charge of the red plate in the process, all eyes were on the pair of Thor MX1 Championship protagonists entering Gillman.

While it was Beaton who qualified quickest and led the way in the AMX Superstores Top 10 Pole Shootout, moto one was all about Webster at the head of the pack, leading every lap on his way to a 0.775s win over a charging Beaton, while defending champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) finished in third place. Fourth was Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), directly ahead of Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Racing Team).

The second moto appeared to be Beaton’s to lose as he made his way to the front of the pack ahead of Webster early on, before a mistake set him back and enabled initial leader Webster to strike. The latter managed to hold on for his second win of the day, this time with only 2.343s separating them as the chequered flag flew. P3 this time out was Waters, followed by Kirk Gibbs (GASGAS Racing Team) and Ferris.

Those results handed Webster the overall round win directly ahead of title rival Beaton, while 2019 champion Waters made a welcome return to the overall podium – tied on points with Ferris, but getting the position on countback following his better result in moto two. In terms of the championship, Webster is a single point clear of Beaton following three of eight rounds, while Crawford is a further 24 points back in third position.


As he has been all season long, runaway Pirelli MX2 points leader Brodie Connolly was effectively in a class of his own at Gillman, qualifying on top of the timesheets early this morning and carrying that form into the motos.

The Polyflor Honda Racing rider sprinted to a 6.222s victory in the opening encounter over teammates Noah Ferguson (Boost Mobile Honda Racing) and Alex Larwood (Froth Honda Racing), with teenagers Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) – who had a late mishap on his way to P4 – and Byron Dennis (GASGAS Racing Team) filling the top five.

Moto two was once again the Connolly show, powering away to a comfortable 9.816s advantage, but this time over Minear and Ryder Kingsford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing). An impressive ride from Japanese rider Haruki Yokoyama (Honda) saw him finish fourth, as Ferguson recovered from early trouble to claw his way back to P5 following a late move on Kaleb Barham (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Overall for the round it was Connolly who made it three-consecutive overalls, joined on the podium by Minear in his return to the top three, with Ferguson’s effort rewarded with third position for the weekend. Connolly is now a full 38 points ahead of Ferguson in the title race, with Kingsford another 10 points in arrears for P3.


Top 10 MX1 Overall

  1. #96 Kyle Webster (Honda) 1-1
  2. #14 Jed Beaton (Yamaha) 2-2
  3. #47 Todd Waters (Husqvarna) 5-3
  4. #1 Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 3-5
  5. #5 Kirk Gibbs (GasGas) 7-4
  6. #199 Nathan Crawford (KTM) 4-7
  7. #4 Luke Clout (Kawasaki) 6-6
  8. #24 Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki) 8-8
  9. #62 Dylan Wood (Honda) 11-9
  10. #81 Joel Evans (Yamaha) 12-10

Top 10 MX1 Standings post Round 3 (of 8)

  1. #96 Kyle Webster (Honda) 136
  2. #14 Jed Beaton (Yamaha) 135
  3. #199 Nathan Crawford (KTM) 111
  4. #1 Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 104
  5. #5 Kirk Gibbs (GasGas) 94
  6. #4 Luke Clout (Kawasaki) 94
  7. #47 Todd Waters (Husqvarna) 88
  8. #24 Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki) 80
  9. #20 Wilson Todd (Honda) 64
  10. #8 Zachary Watson (Husqvarna) 60

Top 10 MX2 Overall

  1. #88 Bordie Connolly (Honda) 1-1
  2. #66 Kayden Minear (KTM) 4-2
  3. #29 Noah Ferguson (Honda) 2-5
  4. #21 Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha) 7-3
  5. #5 Alex Larwood (Honda) 3-12
  6. #7 Jayce Cosford (Yamaha) 8-7
  7. #386 Haruki Yokoyama (Honda) 13-4
  8. #6 Byron Dennis (GasGas) 5-11
  9. #16 Kaleb Barham (Yamaha) 15-6
  10. #86 Reid Taylor (Kawasaki) 6-15

Top 10 MX2 Standings post Round 3 (of 8)

  1. #88 Brodie Connolly (Honda) 147
  2. #29 Noah Ferguson (Honda) 109
  3. #21 Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha) 99
  4. #66 Kayden Minear (KTM) 95
  5. #6 Byron Dennis (GasGas) 79
  6. #7 Jayce Cosford (Yamaha) 79
  7. #22 Rhys Budd (Husqvarna) 78
  8. #16 Kaleb Braham (Yamaha) 73
  9. #386 Yaruki Yokoyama (Honda) 72
  10. #47 Bailey Malkiewicz (Yamaha) 58

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 145