How to Watch: Australia Pro Motocross – Round 2 Horsham

MX1 Race 1 at Round 1 2024 ProMX Championship, Wonthaggi,Victoria.
Image Details
Camera: Canon Canon EOS R3
Lens: Canon RF 70-200mm F2.8L IS USM
f 2.8
1/2000 sec
ISO 160
Credit: Marc Jones/Foremost Media
Date: 17 March 2024

Sparks set to fly as Penrite ProMX Championship powers into Horsham

There will be no shortage of intense racing action at Sunday’s second round of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores, as national motocross returns to Victoria’s historic Horsham venue for the first time in the current era.

Words | Press release

Horsham hasn’t been on the calendar since 2017 and the hard-pack track surface will be a stark contrast to what the country’s best racers experienced in the deep, dark loam of Wonthaggi three weeks ago.

What awaits competitors this time around is a technical 1.7km circuit, complete with a state-of-the-art in-ground watering system and near-perfect spectator viewing opportunities, which all saw the facility host the FIM Junior Motocross World Championship with significant success in 2018.


After a commanding display at Wonthaggi’s series opener, the aim will be for Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster to keep the ball rolling at Horsham. Widely regarded for his prowess in softer terrain, Webster is going to need to put in another near-perfect day if he wants to keep his main challengers at bay.

Webster’s competition is likely to come in the form of CDR Yamaha Monster Energy duo Jed Beaton and Dean Ferris. Beaton had incredible speed at round one, setting a qualifying time that was almost two seconds faster than the rest of the field, and challenging for Webster for the second moto win on his way to a 2-2 result.

Kyle Webster went 1-1 at Round 1 in Wonthagghi – Image: AusProMX Media

For the defending champion Ferris, Horsham signals the opportunity for some redemption after a third overall result at Wonthaggi. The four-time champion focused on banking solid points around a circuit he’s never truly gelled with, and with a string of hard-pack circuits looming, Ferris will fancy his chances of spraying the winner’s champagne on Sunday.

There are a multitude of other racers who will be chasing glory at Horsham. MX1 newcomers – Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd and KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford – showed impressive speed and ability to slice through the pack last time out, while Empire Kawasaki’s Luke Clout is getting more and more confident on his new machine every time he hits the track.

Top 10 MX1 Standings post Round 1 (of 8)

1Kyle Webster50
2Jed Beaton44
3Dean Ferris38
4Wilson Todd36
5Nathan Crawford32
6Luke Clout31
7Todd Waters27
8Brett Metcalfe26
9Kirk Gibbs26
10Zachary Watson21


We’re guaranteed to see a new MX2 champion crowned this year and the contenders began to show their hands at the Wonthaggi opener last month.

Polyflor Honda Racing’s Brodie Connolly and Boost Mobile Honda Racing rider Noah Ferguson split the moto wins and looked in fantastic form, but with both racers regularly using Wonthaggi for their pre-season training, the real test begins on Sunday at Horsham.

Ferguson has built himself a solid reputation as a hard-pack specialist, but Connolly too showed plenty of race-winning pace on the harder surfaces last year. Who gets the upper hand at Horsham will come down to who can minimise the mistakes as the track gets more rutted and challenging later in the day.

Meanwhile, third-placed Ryder Kingsford stunned many with his pace at the opening hit-out, and if the Yamalube Yamaha Racing rider can continue his searing early season form, he could easily steal moto and round wins.

The quality of potential race-winners continues deep into the Pirelli MX2 field, as Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jayce Cosford sits in fourth, ahead of pre-season favourite Rhys Budd and Raceline Husqvarna Racing Team teammate Jack Mather, GASGAS Racing Team’s 2023 MX3 champion Byron Dennis and a legion of others.

Top 10 MX2 Standings post Round 1 (of 8)

1Broddie Connolly47
2Noah Ferguson45
3Ryder Kingsford40
4Jayce Cosford33
5Rhys Budd28
6Jack Mather27
7Kayden Minear25
8Kaleb Barham25
9Byron Dennis20
10Brock Flynn18


How to watch in Australia:


  • Sky Sports NZ 15:00 – 18:00
  • FIM-MOTO.TV 9:50 – 16:00

Event schedule *Based on local time

MX2 Time Practice7:45
MX1 Time Practice9:13
MX2 Moto 110:25
MX1 Moto 113:13
MX2 Moto 214:32
MX1 Moto 215:21

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 143