Australia riders named for the 2024 Motocross of Nations in Matterley Basin

MXoN 2023 Ernee, France Rider: Lawrence_Jett_Australia

Team Australia has been named for the 2024 Monster Energy Motocross of Nations (MXoN) on the same day as Jett Lawrence was confirmed to miss the remainder of the AMA Pro Motocross season due to a thumb injury. The good news is Jett is aiming to return from injury prior to the October 5 & 6 event at Matterley Basin to join Hunter Lawrence and Kyle Webster.

The Honda-riding trio will all take exceptional form into the blockbuster international event, with Webster currently leading the premier MX1 class in the 2024 ProMX Championship, while factory duo Hunter and Jett are first and equal second respectively in the 2024 AMA Pro Motocross Championship in the 450cc class – the same category where Jett produced an irresistible unbeaten season in 2023.

Jett and Hunter Lawrence have been stalwarts for the Australian team over the past two years, taking third place alongside Mitch Evans at RedBud in 2022, and then second place (Australia’s best-career result) with Dean Ferris in Ernée, France, in the 2023 edition. The Lawrence’s have also achieved individual success at the MXoN, with Hunter winning MX2 in 2017 and Jett in the Open category in 2022.

Kyle Webster – Image: AUSMX Media

Meanwhile, Kyle Webster is the current leader of the Australian MX1 Championship with the Honda Penrite team. In turn Webster is right now in the United States where he already competed in Southwick getting a respectable Top 10 on his debut. He is ready to continue this weekend before the national championship break ends. Webster’s last appareance in a Motocross of Nations was at Assen 2019, finishing 7th in the MX2 class.

The team has yet to specify the class for each rider. Last year we saw Jett Lawrence in the MXGP class with Hunter in MX2 and Dean Ferris in Open. We believe this year both Lawrence will stay on the 450 while Webster will take the MX2 spot.

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 147