GP Reel: MXGP of Lombok – Sunday Live Updates

MXPG Lombok - Indonesia 2023, Lombok Rider: Seewer

Welcome to our new-brand GP Reel session coming to you from the island of Lombok, Indonesia, home of the round eleventh of the MXGP World Championship. From warm-up session reports to the first and second motos reports of the day, you’ll find it all right here. Updates are posted in chronological order, so be sure to scroll down for the latest info. For more updates follow us on Twitter: @mx1onboard and for a quick-results-view you can also check the Results Sheet.


Good morning race fans! Yesterday we can see the riders in action on the new-brand track of Lombok. It seems a little bit flat, but with big supercross-style jumps. In the MXGP class, Jorge Prado took the Qualifying Race, while his countryman Ruben Fernandez came in second after a big battle against Romain Febvre and Jeremy Seewer. The big storyline was the MX2 class with the comeback of Jago Geerts who seems to be in form after the wrist injury sustained in France. The Belgian won on a wire-to-wire way to the Qualifying race gaining valuables points in the process.

In a nutshell, there wasn´t too much action or storylines to cover. Maybe things changed through the day as we expect four races to define the both MXGP and MX2 overall winners. So far, Geerts and Febvre set the fast laps in the Warm-Up sessions.

MX2 – RACE 1

Jago Geerts grabbed the holeshot and never look back. At the end of the first lap, the Belgian was 5 seconds ahead of the rest of the pack, and from then on he controlled the race in order to take the first win of the day.

Roan Van de Moosdijk started second but an early mistake drop him to fourth in the form of Andrea Adamo and Simon Langenfelder. Adamo sustained the second position to the checkered flag. On the other side, Langenfelder was caught by Roan Van de Moosdijk and Kay de Wolf close to the end of the race.

Liam Everts and Lucas Coenen rode on a quiet sixth and seventh. Behind them, Thibault Benistant struggled to take eight over Kevin Horgmo and Camden McLellan who rounded the top ten.


A thrilling final race saw Spaniard Jorge Prado catch Romain Febvre in the last two laps for the win. The Frenchman from Kawasaki lead almost the entire race, but Prado made a last effort that was well-rewarded. Glenn Coldenhoff went third after capitalizing on mistakes from Jeremy Seewer and Ruben Fernandez who rounded the top five. Valentin Guillod grabbed the holeshot but he settled in sixth. Behind him went Vlaanderen, Forato, Paturel and Otslund to complete the top 10.

MX2 – RACE 2

It was an eventful second race with the likes of Roan Van de Moosdijk, Liam Everts, Andrea Adamo, and Simon Langenelder battling each other. Meanwhile, Jago Geerts took the early lead just like he did in the first race running away to get a comfortable lead.

Simon Langenfelder and Andrea Adamo went second and third while Liam Everts and Lucas Coenen rounded the top 5. Roan Van de Moosdijk suffered a small crash while running second and ended sixth. His teammate Kay de Wolf crashed in the opening lap and charged to eight behind Jan Pancar. The top 10 were completed by Thibault Benistand and Kevin Horgmo.


It was Jorge Prado who took the early lead, but Romain Febvre made a couple of quick passes and it didn’t take him long to stick on Prado`s back. Both played cat and mouse for a while before the Frenchman made the pass for the lead and pulled away. On the final lap, there wasn’t much between Prado, Coldenhoff and Seewer in an exciting battle for second and just when it looked like Seewer would make a move he lost traction letting Coldenhoff run away with the third place. Spaniard Ruben Fernandes had some battles at the front but then he settled in P5.


More posts from

Onboard Magazine 147