Spanish Motocross Championship – Talavera de la Reina RD1: Race results

gilbert talavera 24

The opening round of the Spanish Motocross Championship took place this weekend at the former MXGP track of Talavera de la Reina serving as the perfect scenario to hold the first race of the season as well as the first preseason test for some MXGP riders like MX1 winner Josh Gilbert, runner-up Mattia Guadagnini and MX2 winner Lucas Coenen, or Triumph duo Mikkel Haarup and Camden McLellan.

The local heroes put the best of themselves on home soil to challenge the GP visitors, and it was reigning MX1 champ Jose Butron who made the trip to the podium as the only Spaniard to do that in the main classes.


In the first moto, Josh Gilbert rocketed from the gate and took the holeshot. He then pulled away from the rest of the pack en route to a perfect win. Behind him, Jose Butron charged from behind to second passing his title rival Carlos Campano who crashed but still was able to keep the third position. Meanwhile, Mattia Guadagnini came in 4th after some mistakes in the early stages of the race.

Mattia Guadagnini redeems himself in the second moto – Image: JP Acevedo

Gilbert once again took the holeshot in the second moto, but after leading a bunch of laps he was edged by Guadagnini who never looked back. Butron rode on a solid 3rd place to secure the podium and valuable championship points. Ander Valentin, who in the first moto charged from Top 20 to 6th, got a better start this time and took 4th over Carlos Campano.

In the end, the overall went to Josh Gilbert (Gabriel SS24 KTM) via 1-2 followed by Neestan Husqvarna´s Mattia Guadagnini (4-1) and TRT KTM and defending champ Jose Butron in third (2-3).

Defending champ Jose Butron kick-off with valuable points under his belt – Image: JP Acevedo


Lucas Coenen swept both motos with a dominant performance. The Neestan Husqvarna rider grabbed the first spot from the beginning and then never looked back. It was a similar story in both races. Triumph Racing´s duo Mikkel Haarup and Camden McLellan made history as the fresh brand went 2nd and 3rd overall. Haarup, winner of the Qualifying Race on Saturday, went 2-2 and McLellan 4-3.

Image: JP Acevedo

The MX2 current champ, Gerard Congost from GasGas, was the best Spaniard at the end of the day with a 4th overall. He also beat McLellan in the first moto.


MX1 Overall

MX2 Overall

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 142