Spanish Motocross RD1 – Talavera de la Reina: Qualifying Race results


The opening round of the Spanish Motocross Championship is taking place at the former MXGP track of Talavera de la Reina. The hard-pack soil saw two great qualifying races in both MX1 and MX2 classes with the dominance of Mattia Guadagnini on his new Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing and the historic win of Mikkel Haarup on its first attempt on Triumph. Local heroes made the best of themselves battling for the top spots.

Mattia Guadagnini storms the field in the MX1 qualifying race. The fresh Neestan Husqvarna rider led from the opening lap until the chequered flag with a comfortable advantage over the reigning champ Jose Antonio Butron who made a late pass for second over Josh Gilbert. Ander Valentin and Brice Maylin rounded the Top 5.

In the MX2 class, history has been made as Mikkel Haarup put the new-brand TF-250X at the top of the board on its first-ever race. Haarup led each lap from the beginning, and on the other hand, Neestan Husqvarna´s Lucas Coenen made a huge charge from all the way back to second. The best Spaniard was Samuel Nilsson who got third over MX2 rookie and last year’s 125cc champ Elias Escandell and Harrup´s teammate Camden McLellan in fifth.

Sunday motos will be live broadcast at 10:45 am (Local time) via YouTube.


MX1 Qualifying Race

MX2 Qualifying Race

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 142