Preview: 2024 EMX125 Championship to start at the sand of Riola Sardo

MXPG Belgium 2023, Lommel Rider:

The 2024 EMX125 season is set to start another season, this time at the sandy track of Riola Sardo, the first of ten championship stops. With Mathis Valin, Janis and Martins Reisulis, and other top names moving to the EMX250 class, this season will be wide open with plenty of young talents ready to fight for their first win, as none involved in this class haven´t won an overall yet. This means that we are at a whole new generation of riders. With that in mind, it´s hard no pick the favorites. So, this is a list with some names to keep an eye on during the season.


Dani Hetink, Jarne Bervoets and Mano Faure will be the ones defending the MJC colors on the YZ125 GYTR kitted for 2024.

Dani Hetink is the defending 2023 FIM Junior World Championship 85cc class, recognized as one of the youngest Dutch talents has now the great chance to prove it in the challenging EMX125 Presented by FMF Racing class. Dani is approaching his first full season in the 125cc class (after a few appearance last year) and will be able to get used to it with a structure like MJC behind him.

Jarne Bervoets 2nd place finisher at the FIM Motocross Junior World Championship 85cc class in Bucharest last season. The young Belgian had already the chance to show everybody his talent and speed in the past season and now inside a Factory structure will have the best possibility to improve.

Mano Faure is the French rider of the three, 15 years old former Motocross of European Nations Champion in 2022 with Team France (together with Quentin Marc Prugniers, Mathys Valin and Amaury Maindru) is at his second season in the EMX125 Presented by FMF Racing class. Inside a French team Mano, will have the chance to push himself and get comfortable on the YZ125 GYTR kitted ang get some good results.

Jarne Bervoets #503, Mano Faure #295 & Dani Heltink #499

Fantic Factory:

The Italian brand has won two titles in the last three seasons, this year they hope to regain the crown that currently belongs to the Yamaha MJC team. They have chosen three riders to carry out this task: Belgian Douwe Van Mechgelen, Italian Simone Mancini and Hungarian Noel Zanocz. This last one is possibly the strongest of the three, as last year he finished 7th in the championship after showing good flashes of speed on several occasions and this year he closed his pre-season with a third place in the International D´Italia. Mancini, meanwhile, was 2nd last year at the final round in Matterley Basin, finishing outside the Top 10 in the EMX125 standings.

Noel Zanocz

Spain RFME Team:

The Spanish national team arrives with more experience and motivation to face a new EMX125 season. This year team selector Paco Rico has chosen Salvador Perez, Carlos Prat, and Carlos Salvador, who currently sit 1st, 2nd, and 4th in the Spanish Motocross Championship. Perez has won all the races so far: 6, and last season he had the opportunity to join the official Yamaha team as a replacement rider, finishing 17th in the final standings with 100 points.

RaceStore KTM:

The Italian team has taken on the new role of the official KTM team within the EMX125 category. Its riders will be Italian Nicoló Alvisi and Dutchman Gyan Doensen. Both have won major titles in the 85cc category; Alvisi won the EMX85 European Championship and Doensen the 85cc Junior World Championship and more recently was crowned champion in the International D´Italia, and last weekend won the second round of the Dutch Masters to take the lead in the championship. He will be one of the favourites in Riola.

Nicolò Alvisi clinching the EMX85 title last year at Loket – Image: JP Acevedo


These are some riders to keep an eye on:

  • Kassimir Hindersson #480 | KTM Motivation: Last year he took 2nd overall at the sand of Lommel after winning the second moto. Start the season in Riola will be a great deal for him!
  • Cole McCullough #555 | Fantic: For 2024, Ireland´s McCullough will once again focus on the EMX125 championship and has made the switch to Fantic machinery with the experienced Corrado Maddii building his bikes.
  • Alessandro Gaspari #18 | Dreams Racing KTM: Another Italian to count on. Gaspari raced some MX2 races on his 125cc in order to prepeare for the EMX125.

EMX125 – 2024 CALENDAR

16 & 7 AprilRiola Sardo
213 & 14 AprilTrentino
34 & 5 MayAgueda
411 & 12 MayLugo
518 &19 MaySaint Jean D´Angely
68 & 9 JuneKegums
715 & 16 JuneMaggiora
810 & 11 AugustUddevalla
917 & 18 AugustArnhem
1024 & 25 AugustFrauenfeld

EMX125 Riola Sardo Entry list:

2 5 Rispoli Brando TM ITA FMI TM moto SteelsDrJack
3 7 Mannini Niccolo Yamaha ITA FMI
4 9 Piredda Mattia KTM ITA FMI
5 10 Maindru Amaury GASGAS FRA FFM
6 15 Rahn Stampe Frederik Yamaha DEN DMU Wozniak MX Racing Team
7 17 Lubis Angga TM INA IMI DVS junior racing
8 18 Gaspari Alessandro KTM ITA FMI Dreams Racing
10 22 Lubis Akbar TM INA IMI DVS junior racing
11 27 Tzemach Ofir Casey Husqvarna ISR HMS
12 28 Gregoire Dean KTM NED KNMV Voss KTM Racing Team
13 29 Piredda Samuele KTM ITA FMI
14 66 Lopez Yannis Husqvarna FRA FFM
15 78 Cardoso Goncalo Husqvarna POR FMP
16 80 Varga Peter GASGAS HUN MAMS
17 81 Toshev Vencislav GASGAS BUL BMF AIT Racing Team
18 83 Badenas Tejada Enzo GASGAS ESP RFME
19 97 Mancini Simone Fantic ITA FMI Fantic Factory Racing EMX125
20 100 Seel Harry GASGAS BEL FMB F4E GASGAS Junior Racing
21 103 Kettlitz Martin KTM AND FMA
22 125 Barbieri Mattia Fantic ITA FMI DREAM TEAM
23 141 Bellei Francesco KTM ITA FMI Dreams Racing
24 188 Hartman Rizan KTM NED KNMV
25 194 Frank Jonathan GASGAS GER DMSB Becker Racing
26 199 Samper Gea Unai GASGAS ESP RFME
27 211 Pini Riccardo Fantic ITA FMI
28 213 Salvi Federico GASGAS ITA FMI
29 228 Conte Michael Fantic ITA FMI DREAM TEAM
30 238 Brunet Tom KTM FRA FFM Jezyk Racing Team
31 240 Paine Diaz Cesar KTM CHI FMC SEVEN Motorsport
32 268 Adler Ryan TM RSA MSA DVS junior racing
33 284 Orlando Giorgio Yamaha ITA FMI JK Racing Yamaha
34 295 Faure Mano Yamaha FRA FFM Yamaha Europe EMX125 MJC
36 301 Bruneau Liam KTM FRA FFM
37 312 Zumstein Noe Yamaha SUI SWISSMOTO JK Racing Yamaha
38 321 Traversini Alessandro KTM ITA FMI
40 356 Puerto Bruno TM ESP RFME DVS junior racing
41 370 Camps Xavier GASGAS ESP RFME
42 407 Davies Jake KTM GBR ACU Voss KTM Racing Team
43 417 van Drunen Jayson Yamaha NED KNMV
44 427 Kennedy Mick GASGAS NED KNMV
45 428 Mc Cullagh Micheàl Husqvarna IRL MCUI
46 452 Gruber Alex KTM ITA FMI
47 466 Janout Vaclav KTM CZE FMI
48 471 Gundersen Pelle Husqvarna NOR KNMV
49 472 Harris Max KTM GBR KNMV
50 474 Ampoorter Ian GASGAS BEL FMB F4E GASGAS Junior Racing
51 478 Vail Josh KTM GBR ACU
52 480 Hindersson Kasimir KTM FIN SML Motovation Motosport
53 484 Kooiker Dex Yamaha NED KNMV De Baets Yamaha MX-Team
54 499 Heitink Dani Yamaha NED KNMV Yamaha Europe EMX125 MJC
55 500 Zoriaco Francesco Fantic ITA FMI DREAM TEAM
56 503 Bervoets Jarne Yamaha BEL FMB Yamaha Europe EMX125 MJC
57 518 Van Mechgelen Douwe Fantic BEL FMB Fantic Factory Racing EMX125
58 530 de Ruyter Simon Yamaha FRA FFM
59 555 McCullough Cole Fantic IRL MCUI
61 589 Van de Poel Tyla Yamaha BEL FMB De Baets Yamaha MX-Team
62 592 Bartlett Freddie KTM SWE SVEMO Motovation Motosport
63 641 Saicans Tomass GASGAS LAT LAMSF
64 646 Hernandez Jose Maria Fantic ESP RFME
65 714 Ozolins Markuss GASGAS LAT LAMSF
66 716 Zanocz Noel Fantic HUN MAMS Fantic Factory Racing EMX125
67 784 Uibu Kaspar KTM EST EMF
68 811 Fronteddu Pietro Yamaha ITA FMI
69 817 Katona Áron KTM HUN MAMS
70 884 Lindmark Casper Husqvarna SWE SVEMO
71 919 Ernecker Maximilian GASGAS AUT AMF F4E GASGAS Junior Racing

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 143