List: All-time winners MXGP of Argentina from 1985 to 2023


This weekend, March 9th & 10th, the MXGP Motocross World Championship will kick off the 2024 season in the beautiful scenario of Villa La Angostura, in Argentina. This will be the 8th time that the circuit has hosted an MXGP event and the 4th time that it has kick-started the season. However, Argentina GP´s history goes back to 1985, and have hosted a total of 15 Grand Prix since the penultimate 125cc round was hosted in Salta on August 18th. Finnish talent Pekka Vehkonnen won that day on Cagiva wth a perfect 1-1.

Here are some stats before to check the all-time winner list of the MXGP of Argentina.

  1. KTM is the most winning brand in Argentina with 8 victories between all the classes.
  2. Tim Gajser is the rider with the most Overall wins: 3
  3. Seven brands have at least one win on Argentinian soil: Cagiva, KTM, Kawasaki, Husqvarna, Yamaha, Honda & GasGas.
  4. 19 riders from 10 different countries have topped the podium: Italy, Belgium, USA, Netherlands, Latvia, Spain, Slovenia, Germany, France & Finland.
  5. In 1987, in Salta, Eric Geboers was crowned 250cc World Champion. It was the first-ever title for Honda and the first in Geboers career.
  6. Argentina is the home of the first-career wins for Rodney Smith, Dylan Ferrandis and Ruben Fernandez.

List: All-time winners MXGP of Argentina

1985SaltaPekka VekhonnenFinland125ccCagiva
1986SaltaDave StrijbosBelgium125ccCagiva
1987SaltaRodney SmithUSA250ccHonda
1988CosquinGuiseppe AndreaniItaly250ccHonda
1989CosquinTrampas ParkerUSA125ccKTM
1994Carlos PazBob MooreUSA125ccYamaha
1995Carlos PazAlessio ChiodiItaly125ccYamaha
2010La RiojaCarlos CampanoSpainMX3Yamaha
2015Villa La AngosturaMax NaglGermanyMXGPHusqvarna
2015Villa La AngosturaDylan FerrandisFranceMX2Kawasaki
2016Villa La AngosturaTim GajserSloveniaMXGPHonda
2016Villa La AngosturaJeffrey HerlingsNetherlandsMX2KTM
2017Villa La AngosturaTim GajserSloveniaMXGPHonda
2017Villa La AngosturaPauls JonassLatviaMX2KTM
2018Villa La AngosturaJeffrey HerlingsNetherlandsMXGPKTM
2018Villa La AngosturaPauls JonassLatviaMX2KTM
2019Villa La AngosturaAntonio CairoliItalyMXGPKTM
2019Villa La AngosturaJorge PradoSpainMX2KTM
2022Villa La AngosturaTim GajserSloveniaMXGPHonda
2022Villa La AngosturaTom VialleFranceMX2KTM
2023Villa La AngosturaRuben FernandezSpainMXGPHonda
2023Villa La AngosturaJago GeertsBelgiumMX2Yamaha

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 145