International of Sommieres 2024: Seewer gets his first win on Kawasaki

seewer kawa_edited

The 57th edition of the classic International of Sommieres (France) saw great battles on both MX1 and MX2 classes. The crowd witnessed the first-ever win of Jeremy Seewer on Kawasaki, as the Swiss swept both motos in MX1. Meanwhile in MX2 Thibault Benistant prevails in his first race of 2024.

Heading to the first race of the day, Seewer already showed his intentions after setting the fastest lap time in the Time Qualifying and then in the Superpole as well. Seewer kept the momentum by winning the opening race with a comfortable over teammate Romain Febvre who charged from behind to get second over Standing Construct´s Pauls Jonass. Second moto was a similar story with Seewer taking the win again over Febvre and Jonass.

Neestan Husqvarna´s Mattia Guadagnini went somewhat unnoticed after finishing 15-8 in the MX1 races but he recovered with a 6th place in the Superfinal.

In the MX2 class, Red Bull KTM´s Liam Everts took the first race of the day over Monster Energy Yamah´s Benistant and Triumph´s Mikkel Haarup. Everts grabbed the early lead in Race 2, but a mistake dropped him to third while Benistant and Haarup battled back and forth for the first place, with Benistant taking the checkered flag.

Thibault Benistant – Image: JP Acevedo

The final podium saw Benistant winning the overall via 2-1 followed by Everts 1-3 and Haarup 3-2.

Quentin Prugnieres, Liam Everts, Camden McLellan, and Mikkel Haarup were involved in first-turn pileup and ended on 15th, 18th, 19th and 20th respectively.


MX1 Top 10 Overall:

  1. Jeremy Seewer (Kawasaki) 1-1
  2. Romain Febvre (Kawasaki) 2-2
  3. Pauls Jonass (Honda) 3-3
  4. Valentin Guillod (Honda) 4-5
  5. Alberto Forato (Honda) 8-4
  6. Greg Aranda (Yamaha) 9-6
  7. Maxime Desprey (Yamaha) 7-9
  8. Stephen Rubini (Honda) 6-10
  9. Kevin Horgmo (Honda) 10-7
  10. Pierre Goupillon (KTM) 5-12

MX2 Top 10 Overall:

  1. Thibault Benistant (Yamaha) 2-1
  2. Liam Everts (KTM) 1-3
  3. Mikkel Haarup (Triumph) 3-2
  4. Mathys Bosirame (Husqvarna) 4-4
  5. Andrea Bonacorsi (Yamaha) 7-5
  6. Maxime Grau (GasGas) 6-7
  7. Karlis Reisulis (Yamaha) 8-6
  8. Quentin Prugnieres (Kawasaki) 4-10
  9. Camden McLellan (Triumph) 7-8
  10. Arnaud Colson (KTM) 11-9


  1. Romain Febvre (Kawasaki)
  2. Jeremy Seewer (Kawasaki)
  3. Thibault Benistant (Yamaha)
  4. Alberto Forato (Honda)
  5. Maxime Desprey (Yamaha)
  6. Mattia Guadagnini (Husqvarna)
  7. Greg Aranda (Yamaha)
  8. Jordi Tixier (Honda)
  9. Valentin Guillod (Honda)
  10. Pauls Jonass (Honda)

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 145