GP Reel: MXGP of Indonesia – Sunday Live Updates

MXPG Indonesia 2023, Sumbawa Rider:

Welcome to our new-brand GP Reel session coming to you from the island of Sumbawa, Indonesia, home of the round tenth of the MXGP World Championship. From warm-up session reports to the first and second motos reports of the day, you’ll find it all right here. Updates are posted in chronological order, so be sure to scroll down for the latest info. For more updates follow us on Twitter: @mx1onboard and for a quick-results-view you can also check the Results Sheet.


This time MXGP took the trip to the island of Sumbawa. The track remains the same as last year´s edition with a pair of split lines and a big triple jump as well as uphills and downhill with waves.

Sumbawa mark the beginning of the second half season, which started yesterday in a dramatic way in the MX2 class, with Andrea Adamo losing vital points due to a first-turn crash during the Qualifying Race. Hopefully the Italian seems OK for today´s racing, but now he is leading by 4 points over Thibault Benistant who came second in the Qualy Race behind a superb Lucas Coenen.

Meanwhile, in the MXGP class, this is the first GP of the season in the absence of runner-up Jeffrey Herlings who sustained a neck injury at Teutschenthal two weeks ago. That left Jorge Prado in a lonely position in the standings with 106 points over Romain Febvre. However, the Frenchman doesn´t seem to give up as he went perfectly yesterday going P1 in each session making a couple of points on Prado who finished 4th in the Qualy Race behind Yamaha duo Jeremy Seewer and Glenn Coldenhoff.

MX2 – RACE 1

Lucas Coenen snatched the lead from the hands of Liam Everts with 2 laps to go in order to take the first race of the day. The Neestan Husqvarna rider applied strong pressure over his countryman until he made the pass. Behind the Belgian duo, it was a similar story in the fight for P3 as Andrea Adamo made a late charge pass to take the position over Simon Langenfelder.

Meanwhile, Jago Geerts rounded the top 5 after recovering from a crash while he was leading. His teammate Thibault Benistant made his way from ninth to sixth, topping Kevin Horgmo, Roan Van de Moosdijk, Kay de Wolf, and Jan Pancar on the top 10.

Third race-career win for Lucas Coenen who is looking to take his first-ever overall GP – Image: JP Acevedo


Jorge Prado broke Febvre´s streak as the Frenchman lose the lead due to a small crash in the late stages of the race after he lead almost the entire race after he grabbed the holeshot. However, it was the Spaniard who take his eight-race win of the season. Febvre came on a frustrated second place over Yamaha´s duo Jeremy Seewer and Glenn Coldenhoff. Ruben Fernandez rounded the top five after holding the position over Calvin Vlaanderen who charged to sixth place. Then came Forato, Paturel, Evans and Guillod to complete the final top 10 spots.

Jorge Prado took the first win in a smart way! – Image: JP Acevedo


Lucas Coenen finally seals his first-ever MX2 overall win. The 16-year-old Belgium do in a big fashion. Like in the first moto, Coenen took the early lead and checked out from the rest of the pack. Meanwhile, the fight for second place was a true contest with some riders involved, but it was Liam Everts on more time finishing in second. Jago Geerts came in third prevailing from a frightening battle against his teammate Thibault Benistant. Kevin Horgmo closed the top 5 over Roan Van de Moosdijk. Red Plate Holder Andrea Adamo crashed in the first lap and remounted from sixteen to seventh in order to keep the red plate. Jan Pancar, Kay de Wolf and Simon Langenfelder rounded the top 10.

In the end, it was a full Belgium podium with Lucas Coenen on top for the first time in his career (1-1) followed by Liam Everts (2-2) and Jago Geerts (3-3) who returned on the box for the first time since the GP of Spain. Andrea Adamo will keep the Red Plate one more round as he now leads by 5 points over Benistant.


Romain Febvre rebounds in the second race with a huge win. Without mistakes this time, the Frenchman took the early lead after scoring the holeshot, and from then on he controlled the race. Jorge Prado was riding second but in the final minutes was caught by Jeremy Seewer. Dutchmans Calvin Vlaanderen and Glenn Coldenhoff rounded the top 5. Honda HRC Ruben Fernandez was having a great first lap battling in the top three group, but a crash knocked out for the battle, finishing sixth. The remaining position of the top 10 went to Mitch Evans, Valentin Guillod, Alberto Forato and Alvin Ostlund.

This was the first overall win for Febvre in over two years. On the emotional was good, but on the standings situation, Jorge Prado keep an amount of 101 points of advantage over the KRT rider. Jeremy Seewer took home third overall.

First overall win of the season by Romain Febvre – Image: JP Acevedo

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 147