All-time Supercross winners from 1974 to 2023


It’s almost here! The 2024 AMA Supercross season is just 5 days until the star at the opening round in Anaheim 1. While we´re still waiting, we decided to take a look at the 450SX all-time winner’s list from the beginning until last season and recap some facts.

Currently, the list has 66 riders who have managed to win at least one round in the AMA Supercross premier class since the championship debuted in 1974. And 23 of those riders got crowned.

Jeremy McGrath became the top winner in 1995 when he took his 29th win, surpassing Rick Johnson, currently 8th in the rankings. The King of Supercross is likely to stay on top for several more years to come as Eli Tomac, his closest follower with 51 victories, is probably in the twilight of his career as he hinted before the start of this season.

Tomac is 21 victories from the all-time record set by Jeremy McGrath in 2001.

Throughout 2023, Tomac managed to break the tie with Chad Reed (44) for fifth place and before the end of the season, he climbed to second place in the ranking with a total of 51 victories, leaving behind big names such as James Stewart (50) and Ricky Carmichael (48).

Bob Hannah has been in the Top 10 for the most years, since his last victory – the 26th – dates back to 1985, at Daytona. Hannah is 6 wins ahead of Cooper Webb and Ken Roczen (tied with 21) who like Tomac are the only active riders into the Top 10 of the list. Then we have to go down to 18th place to find the next active driver: Jason Anderson with 14 wins.

Defending champion Chase Sexton is in 27th place with a total of 7 wins. He shares the spot with David Vuillemin, Jeff Emig and Jhonny O’Mara, all of whom are champions like Sexton. Tied for 36th place are two other champions, Donnie Hansen and Jimmy Weinert, both with four wins. However, the champion with the fewest wins (1) on the list is Dutchman Pierre Karssemaker, winner of the first Main Event and championship in 1974. On the other hand, Ken Roczen is the winningest rider (21) without a title.

All-time premier class SX wins

Note: Active riders*

RankingRiderWinsTitlesLast win
1Jeremy McGrath7272001
2*Eli Tomac5122023
3James Stewart5022014
4Ricky Carmichael4852007
5Chad Reed4422015
6Ryan Villopoto4142014
7Ryan Dungey3442017
8Ricky Johnson2821989
9Bob Hannah2731985
10*Cooper Webb2122023
10*Ken Roczen212023
12Jeff Ward2021991
13Damon Bradshaw191993
14Kevin Windham182010
15Jeff Stanton1731993
15Mark Barnett1711985
17Jean-Michel Bayle1611992
18*Jason Anderson1412022
19Ezra Lusk122003
20David Bailey1111986
20Mike Bell1111983
22Mike LaRocco102004
22Broc Glover101988
22Marvin Musquin102022
25Ron Lechien81989
25Jimmy Ellis811978
27David Vuillemin72002
27Jeff Emig711997
27Johnny O’Mara711985
27*Chase Sexton712023
31*Justin Barcia62023
32Trey Canard52015
32Davi Millsaps52013
32Mike Kiedrowski51995
32Kent Howerton51981
36Doug Henry41997
36Donnie Hansen411982
36Darrell Shultz41982
36Jimmy Weinert411979
40Larry Ward31999
40Marty Smith31977
42Marty Tripes21978
42Tony DiStefano21977
44Cole Seely12015
44Josh Grant12009
44Josh Hill12008
44Nathan Ramsey12006
44John Dowd11998
44Sebastien Tortelli11998
44Damon Huffman11997
44Greg Albertyn11997
44Mike Craig11994
44Doug Dubach11991
44Jeff Matiasevich11990
44Rick Ryan11980
44Rex Staten11980
44Chuck Sun11980
44Steve Wise11979
44Gaylon Mosier11978
44Jaroslav Falta11974
44Jim Pomeroy11974
44Pierre Karsmakers111974
44Andrew Short12012
44Justin Brayton12018
44Blake Baggett12018
44Zach Osborne12020

More posts from

Onboard Magazine 142